The Teaching Hub serves as both a support structure to assist and encourage faculty/staff teaching award nominations, but also an institutional memory of our success. Nipissing University faculty and staff have been recognized through a number of different institutional and provincial programs: 

Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching

The purpose of the Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching is to recognize and celebrate the value and excellence of full-time and part-time faculty contributions in teaching. Recipients must have been a member of Nipissing University Faculty Association (NUFA) for at least three (3) years and not have received this award within the last five (5) years.

Congratulations to the 2022 Recipients of the Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching!

Dr. Charles Anyinam

Dr. Charles Anyinam Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching (FASBU) 2022

School of Nursing
Full-Time Faculty Award Recipient
Award Profile

Erin Dokis

Erin Dokis Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching (CASBU) 2022

Gender Equality and Social Justice
Part-time Faculty Award Recipient
Award Profile

Full-Time Faculty Award Recipients


Dr. Renée Valiquette portrait

Dr. Renée Valiquette
Gender Equality and Social Justice and Child and Family Studies


Nancy Maynes Photo

Dr. Nancy Maynes
Schulich School of Education



Dr. Laurie Peachey
School of Nursing


Steve Hansen portrait

Dr. Steven Hansen
Schulich School of Education 


Benjamin Kelly Profile Photo

Dr. Benjamin Kelly
Department of Sociology and Anthropology 

Glen Sharpe Photo

Dr. Glen Sharpe
Schulich School of Education 


Terry Campbell Photo

Dr. Terry Campbell
Schulich School of Education 

Dr. Carly Dokis

Dr. Carly Dokis
Department of Anthropology 


Peter Nosko Profile Photo

Dr. Peter Nosko
Biology and Environmental Science 


Glenda Black Profile Photo

Dr. Glenda Black
Schulich School of Education 


 homepage slider Nov7 Sal_Renshaw

Dr. Sal Renshaw
Gender Equality and Social Justice 

John Allison Profile Photo

Dr. John Allison
Schulich School of Education 

Part-time Faculty Award Recipients


Laura Killam portrait

Laura Killam
School of Nursing


Bill Steer

Mr. Bill Steer
Schulich School of Education

Dr. Rick Senior
School of Nursing 

Laura Rossi 
Department of Biology and Chemistry 

Jesse Davis
Applied and Professional Studies 

Joanne Kmiec
Schulich School of Education 


Joe Boivin

Joseph Boivin
Department of Biology 

Jennifer (Jenny) Guibert
Schulich School of Education 

The 3M National Teaching and Student Fellowships

Shandon Ashitei

Shandon Ashitei portrait

2022 3M National Student Fellow
Read the full story

The 3M National Teaching Fellowship is Canada’s most prestigious recognition of excellence in educational leadership and teaching at the university and college levels. In 1986, the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (STLHE) and 3M Canada partnered to recognize exceptional contributions to teaching and learning in Canadian post-secondary education. The community of 3M National Teaching Fellows embodies the highest ideals of teaching excellence and scholarship with a commitment to encourage and support the educational experience of every learner.

In collaboration with the Office of Student Development and Services, the Teaching Hub also assists with external student award nominations, such as the 3M National Student Fellowship.

Congratulations to Shandon Ashitei, 2022 3M National Student Fellow!

D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning

Denyse Lafrance Horning

Dr. Denyse Lafrance Horning

2020 D2L Innovation Award Recipient 
Award Profile

Established in 2012, the D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning, sponsored by D2L (Desire2Learn), celebrates and recognizes up to five post-secondary collaborative teams each year for their innovative approaches that promote student-centred teaching and learning.

Award recipients receive the following:

  1. Up to $3,000 to offset the registration and travel costs to attend the Annual STLHE conference.
  2. The team will be recognized at the Conference Awards Ceremony.
  3. Each member of the team will receive a certificate in recognition of their significant collaborative contributions to teaching and learning.
  4. The Team will present a poster at the STLHE Annual Conference.
  5. Award recipients are strongly encouraged to submit a paper about their collaborative project to CELT (Collected Essays on Learning and Teaching).

The Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA) Teaching and Academic Librarianship Awards 

Each year OCUFA recognizes outstanding teachers and academic librarians in Ontario universities through its Teaching and Academic Librarianship Awards. Since 1973 OCUFA has presented 442 awards. 

Teaching, in the context of the OCUFA awards, embraces virtually all levels of instruction – graduate and undergraduate teaching, continuing education and faculty development. 

Academic librarianship, in the context of the OCUFA Awards, embraces all aspects of librarianship that contribute to the scholarly achievement of all members of the university community. 

OCUFA Award Recipients

Dr. Ronald Klingspon
Department of English

Dr. Matti Saari
Department of Psychology

Dr. Norbert Schuldes
Department of Philosophy

Other Awards

There are many other disciplinary teaching awards, as well as awards for specific teaching modalities, which the Teaching Hub can support through the nomination process. Some examples include: