Board of Governors

The Nipissing University Act (1992) provides for a bicameral governance of the University and thus, governance is based on two legislative branches: the Board of Governors and the Academic Senate. The Board of Governors, which is made up of 26 members including Nipissing’s President and Chancellor, is responsible for the government and administration of the University, creating a mandate and evaluating and monitoring the progress of that mandate. This includes control of Nipissing’s property and revenues and the conduct of its business affairs except for those matters assigned to the Academic Senate.

The Board of Governors meets at least five times a year, and we invite you to follow the links to view the minutes of these meetings. Find out more about the Board's composition, committees and activities by choosing one of the categories listed.

Governing Officers

Board of Governors

(effective July 1, 2018)

Chancellor - Dr. Paul Cook (d.Litt)
Chair - Mr. Tom Palangio
Vice-Chair - Mr. Gord Durnan
President – Dr. Mike DeGagné

Non-Constituent Members

Dr. Karen Barnes, DVM
Mr. Tom Curry, LLB
Mr. Gary Jodouin 
Ms. Joanne Laplante 
Mr. Karl Neubert
Ms. Fran Couchie  
Ms. Judy Smith
Mr. Bobby Ray

Vacancy (x3)

Members Appointed by the Senate

Dr. Blaine Hatt 

Members Appointed by the Faculty at Large

Dr. Kristen Ferguson
Dr. Toivo Koivukoski

Members Appointed by the Students

Mr. Daniel Goulard (NUSU President)
Ms. Hannah Mackie (VP Governance)

Official Observers: 

Mr. Nicholai MacKenzie ​(NUSU VP Services)
Mr. Xander Winter (VP Communications) 

Member Appointed by the Alumni Advisory Board

Ms. Jade Nighbor

Members Appointed by the Non-teaching Employees

Mr. Ryan Hehn
Mr. Stephen Tedesco

Member Appointed by the Aboriginal Council on Education

Ms. Rose Jawbone

Mayoral Designate

Mr. Marcus Tignanelli