Nipissing unveils 2021 alumni award recipients

North Bay, ON – The Nipissing University Alumni Advisory Board (NUAAB) has unveiled the names of its 2021 Alumni Award recipients. The annual Alumni Awards celebrate the accomplishments of members of Nipissing University's global community of alumni who represent an inspiring account of positive social, cultural and economic change in the world. Interviews with each recipient will be featured on the University’s social media channels over the course of this week.

“Selecting our award recipients is always a challenging task as there are so many remarkable Nipissing University alumni who are deserving of recognition,” said NUAAB President, Lisa Snider. “Each of this year’s recipients exemplify the true spirit of being a Laker and we are pleased to be able to recognize and celebrate their achievements and the positive impact they have had on their respective professions and communities.”

The Dr. James Jamieson Influential Alumni Award is presented to a graduate whose dedication and leadership has influenced significant change and prosperity within their community. Author, artist and researcher Emily Gillespie is this year’s recipient. They are a passionate social and disability justice activist working towards greater inclusion within the arts.

The Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award is presented to an alumnus whose achievements and excellence in their endeavours have distinguished them as a valued leader. This year’s recipient is Dillon Richardson. Richardson is a sport management professional currently working with the International Paralympic Committee to grow the sport of Para Powerlifting.

The Rising Star Alumni Award, presented to a recent graduate of Nipissing University who has demonstrated significant achievements on a professional, community or volunteer basis, is awarded to graduate student, Alexander Maycock. Maycock is a varsity Nordic skier, captain, coach, researcher, writer, and YouTuber and has represented Nipissing University and Team Canada in international competition at the World University Games.

The Honorary Alumni Award recognizes friends of Nipissing University for outstanding service, commitment and contribution, past or present, to the University. This award is presented to Dr. Mike DeGagné, President and CEO of Indspire, Canada’s largest Indigenous charity. Dr. DeGagné served as Nipissing University’s sixth President and Vice-Chancellor from 2013 until 2020, where he dedicated much of his work to Indigenous issues and ensuring the University took a leading role in the Indigenization of the post-secondary education sector.

Finally, the Philanthropy Alumni Award is presented to an alumnus or champion of Nipissing University who is making significant contributions to improve their community through their generosity, dedication, commitment and service. This year’s recipient is Tammy Morison, President and CEO of the North Bay Regional Health Centre Foundation and a passionate leader in the healthcare philanthropy sector.

For full biographies and video interviews with each of this year’s recipients, visit



Meghan Venasse
Manager, Communications
Nipissing University
705-474-3450 ext. 4615