Nipissing students honoured for outstanding contributions

North Bay, ON – Yesterday, 25 student leaders at Nipissing University were recognized and celebrated for their outstanding contributions to their academic program, to the campus, or to the greater community at the annual Dave Marshall Leadership Awards ceremony held in the Nipissing Theatre.

The Dave Marshall Leadership Award is presented to students noted for their exceptional leadership, initiative, commitment and ability to motivate others towards the betterment of Nipissing University. This prestigious, non-monetary award was established in recognition of the dedication and leadership that Dr. Dave Marshall demonstrated during his 18 years of service as the Dean of Education, and President and Vice-Chancellor of Nipissing University.

Dr. Marshall’s commitment to higher education, vision for the future, and leadership in external community service are all qualities embodied in the students selected for these awards.

Congratulations to each of the following 2023 Dave Marshall Leadership Award recipients:

Academic Category

  • Andrea Ammerlaan
  • Ashlyn Fairbanks
  • Hayden Lloyd
  • Jacqueline Girard
  • Jaden Gilbert
  • Megan Pulford
  • Page Chartrand
  • Reid Lafleur

Campus Category

  • Claudia Schlosser
  • Dawson Thompson
  • Demi Mathias
  • Hailey Dattrino
  • Haley Gignac
  • Lucia Gutierrez Lecuona
  • Maxwell Smith
  • Natalie Iafrate
  • Quinn Erskine
  • Rachel Morin
  • Shaelyn Francis
  • Tanya Matthews

Community Category

  • Ashley Taciuk
  • Kate Mah
  • Madison Laberge
  • Megan Terriss
  • Simone Branch

To learn more about the accomplishments of each recipient, visit


Media Contact:
Carly Johnston
Communications Officer
Nipissing University
(705) 474-3450 ext. 4035

GeneralDave Marshall Leadership Award