NU Celebrates Student Leadership with The Dave Marshall Leadership Awards

Nipissing University celebrates 25 student leaders on Thursday, March 21st, 2019 at the annual Dave Marshall Leadership Awards in the Nipissing University Theatre (F213) at 1:30 pm. All members of the Nipissing University and North Bay communities are invited to attend and join in on the celebration.

Annually, 25 full-time students are recognized with a Dave Marshall Leadership Award. These students have made an outstanding extracurricular contribution to their academic program, to the campus, or to the greater community. They have demonstrated leadership, initiative, commitment, and an ability to motivate others toward the betterment of Nipissing University.

This award is a prestigious, non-monetary award in recognition of the dedication and leadership Dr. Dave Marshall demonstrated during his 18 years of consecutive service as the Dean of Education and President and Vice Chancellor of Nipissing University. Dr. Marshall’s tenure at Nipissing University is a reflection of his commitment to higher education, vision for the future, and leadership in external community service. These were all characteristics reflective of Dr. Marshall’s position at Nipissing University and are qualities embodied in the students chosen for this award.

During the ceremony, Dave Marshall Leadership Awards will be presented to students noted for their exceptional leadership within one of three categories: Academic, Campus, or Community. Each recipient will receive a framed certificate, a leadership medallion in their category of nomination, and will have their name included on the Dave Marshall Leadership Awards plaque displayed in the B-Wing of the university.

Students, staff, administration, faculty, alumni, community members and families are all invited to attend the ceremony to celebrate our 2019 award recipients. A reception will follow the awards ceremony in the Nipissing Cafeteria (A246).

Congratulations to the 2019 Dave Marshall Leadership Award recipients:

Academic Recipients

Jacob Belanger
Trevor Gansekoele
Ryoga Hojo
Taylor Hummel
Caleb Mady
Teagan Retty
Mackenzie Senior
Katie Talbot

Campus Recipients

Parker Anderson
Jordan Cascagnette
Lynne Cormier
Armaan Dattani
Mitchell Hanniman
Emilia Langill
Paige Linklater-Wong
Taylor Mueller
Alexis Poirier
Carly Renaud
Emily Teeter
Mykaela Volpe

Community Recipients

Riley Cormier
Dawn Corston
Kyle Cuthbert
Samuel Levac
Lisa Truong


Student Development and Services