Board of Governors | Nipissing University Skip over navigation
[X] close
Switch Contrast

Board of Governors

The Nipissing University Act (1992) provides for a bicameral governance of the University and thus, governance is based on two legislative branches; the Board of Governors and the Academic Senate. The Board of Governors, which is made up of 28 members including Nipissing’s President and Chancellor, is responsible for the government and administration of the University, creating a mandate, and evaluating and monitoring the progress of that mandate. This includes control of Nipissing’s property and revenues and the conduct of its business affairs, except for those matters assigned to the Academic Senate.
The Board of Governors meets five times a year, and we invite you to follow the links to view the minutes of these meetings. Find out more about the Board's composition, committees and activities by choosing one of the categories listed.
Governing Officers
Board of Governors
(updated  as of August 2013)

Chancellor - Dr. Jon S. Dellandrea, C.M.
Chair - Mr. Colin Dennis BSc (Hons.) 
Vice-Chair - Mr. Greg DuCharme
Vice-Chair Pro Tem - Ms. Marianne Berubé
President – Dr. Mike DeGagné
Members Appointed by the Board
Dr. Trevor Bachelder, DVM
Ms. Colleen Miller
Mr. Tom Curry
Mr. Jim Evans
Dr. Marianna Couchie
Mr. Rene de Bernardi
Ms. Janet Zimbalatti
Mr. Gord Durnan
Mr. Brian Windsor
Mr. Steve Portelli
Members Appointed by the Senate
Dr. Terry Campbell
Dr. Jeff Scott
Dr. Roxana Vernescu
Dr. John Kovacs
Members Appointed by the Students
Ms. Kayla Fitzsimmons (NUSU President)
Mr. Corey Grist(NUSU VP External)
Official Observers: Mr. Andrew Deugo (NUSU VP Student Life)
Mr. Yannick Benoit(NUSU VP Internal)
Member Appointed by the Alumni Association
Ms. Genevieve deBruyn
Members Appointed by the Non-teaching Employees
Mr. Casey Phillips
Ms. Margarida Shail
Member Appointed by the Aboriginal Council on Education
Ms. Donna Forget
Mayoral Designate
Mr. Al McDonald
Past Chair
Mr. Paul Belanger

 Related Links



Stay Connected

Nipissing University
100 College Drive, Box 5002, North Bay, ON, Canada  P1B 8L7
Tel: 705.474.3450 | Fax: 705.474.1947 | TTY: 877.688.5507
Muskoka Campus
125 Wellington Street
Bracebridge, ON, Canada P1L 1E2
Tel: 705.645.2921 | Fax: 705.645.2922
Brantford Campus
50 Wellington Street
Brantford, ON, Canada N3T 2L6
Tel: 519.752.1524 | Fax: 519.752.8372
Nipissng University

© Nipissing University 2014DisclaimerPrivacyAccessibility